## PART III.--REGISTER OF OFFICIAL APPOINTMENTS

The following list of official appointments continues, up to Dec. 31, 1953, that published in the 1952-53 Year Book, pp. 1218-1223.

Governor General's Staff .- 1953. May 4, The following persons to be Deputies of His Excellency the Governor General: Hon. John R. Cartwright, a Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada; Hon. Gerald Fauteux, a Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada; Hon. Charles Holland Locke, a Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada. Aug. 14, To be Honorary Aides-de-Camp to His Excellency the Governor General, effective Sept. 1, 1953: Superintendent Donald Anthony McKinnon, of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, St. John's, N'f'ld.; Inspector Jacob Arthur Francis Young, of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Truro, N.S.; Inspector William Harrison Graham Nevin, of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Charlottetown, P.E.I.; Inspector John Archibald Stevenson, O.B.E., of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Moncton, N.B.; Inspector Philip Barry Cox, of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Dauphin, Man.; Inspector Henry Christopher Forbes, M.B.E., of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Yorkton, Sask.; Inspector Kenneth Shakespeare, of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Peace River, Alta.; Inspector Herbert John Spanton, of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Kamloops, B.C.; Inspector Weldon Jack Fitzsimmons, of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Fort Smith, N.W.T.; Inspector John Richard Steinhauer, of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Whitehorse, Y.T. Aug. 18. Lieut.-Col. L. F. Trudeau, D.S.O., O.B.E., C.D.: to be Honorary Aide-de-Camp, effective July 28, 1953. Nov. 10, Acting Commander W. Haggeth, R.C.N.(R) to be Honorary Aide-de-Camp, effective Nov. 10, 1953.

Administrator of the Government of Canada.—1953. June 16, Hon. James Wilfred Estey and Joseph François Delaute: to be Deputies to the Administrator.

Lieutenant-Governors.—1953. July 6, Hon. John Stewart McDiarmid: to be Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Manitoba, effective Aug. 1, 1953.

Privy Councillors.—1952. Oct. 15, James Sinclair, North Vancouver, B.C., and Ralph Osborne Campney, Vancouver, B.C.: to be Members of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. 1953. May 11, Rt. Hon. Thibaudeau Rinfret, Chief Justice of Canada: to be a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. Hon. Elie Beauregard, Speaker of the Senate: to be a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. Hon. William Ross Macdonald, Speaker of the House of Commons: to be a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. George Alexander Drew, Leader of the Opposition: to be a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. June 12, John Whitney Pickersgill: to be a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. Sept. 17, Jean Lesage: to be a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada.

Cabinet Ministers.—1953. June 12, Hon. John Whitney Pickersgill, a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada: to be Secretary of State of Canada. Sept. 17, Hon. Jean Lesage, a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada: to be Minister of Resources and Development. Hon. Robert Henry Winters, a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada: to be Minister of Public Works. Oct. 14, Hon. William Ross Macdonald, a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada and Leader of the Government in the Senate: to be a Member of the